All A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W Y Acronyms

  • New and Emerging Jobs
    Newly created job postitions or occupations that are expected to have a rising number of job openings.
  • New Computer User
    Individuals with basic computer skills should understand common technology terminology and equipment. They also should be knowledgeable of computer hardware and productivity software to organize and create information. In addition, new computer users should know about computer hardware and communications software to access and transmit information.
  • No Strings Attached
    No restrictions on your remixing, redistributing, or making derivative works. Give credit to the author, as required.
  • NOCTI Assessment
    The NOCTI is a timed assessment that measures a persons knowledge of workplace skills. Topics covered include:
    • Ready (5%)
    • Math (10%)
    • Writing (10%)
    • Speaking and Listening (12%)
    • Computer Literacy (6%)
    • Reasoning, Problem-Solving and Decision Making (8%)
    • Understanding the Big Picture (8%)
    • Work Ethic (5%)
    • Positive Attitude (6%)
    • Independence and Initiative (8%)
    • Self-Presentation (6%)
    • Attendance (6%)
    • Collaboration (10%)

    ​There are a total of 124 multiple choice questions. Once successfully completed, a certificate of completion and digital badge is available for download from your account.

  • Non-covered Individual
    Any individual who meets neither the definition of “veteran,” as defined in this section, nor the definition of “eligible spouse” as defined in this section.
  • Non-Registered Apprenticeship

    Non-Registered Apprenticeship in Illinois - An apprenticeship that is not registered with the U.S. Department of Labor, but that meets all Registered Apprenticeship criteria other than application for registration.

  • North Central

    ​This region includes the following counties: DeWitt, Fulton, Livingston, Marshall, Mason, McLean, Peoria, Stark, Tazewell, and Woodford.

  • North Stateline

    ​This region includes the following counties: Boone, Ogle, Stephenson, and Winnebago.

  • Northeast

    ​This region includes the following counties: Cook, DeKalb, DuPage, Grundy, Kane, Kankakee, Kendall, Lake, McHenry, and Will.

  • Northwest

    ​This region includes the following counties: Bureau, Carroll, Henry, Jo Daviess, LaSalle, Lee, Mercer, Putnam, Rock Island, and Whiteside.